Bogotá and Medellín : Colombia’s green cities ! 🇨🇴

Hello everyone it’s Shakira who writes you from Bogota… 👋 and no I’m kidding!!! I’m such a kidder!!! 😂

It is there I arrived in Colombia and I have been mainly in two cities: Bogotá then Medellín.

I loved this country, but I don’t even know if I have to tell you about the whole country or just the cities I visited… 🤷‍♀️ I learned so much during this stay!

Because the country still has 33 national parks, 6 small santuarios de fauna y flora, two reservas nacionales and a area natural única and the whole of these protected areas represents 7.9% of the territory. 🌴

Sierra Nevada Del Cocuy National Park

So let’s start in Bogotá where I spent my first day as a Colombian. This day started with a thermal shock. In Bahia de Caraquez it was 30 degrees and there BOOM only 18 degrees, gloves and cap are necessary! 🥶🤭

Bogotá

So, let’s go : Bogotá really has an ecological approach and for good reason in talking with the usual people they told me that there was a gas tax… Unimaginable to us, isn’t it? 😳

There were urban highway projects and everything was cancelled to recover money for building schools, libraries, parks, bike lanes and a pedestrian avenue.

In addition to taxes, motorists are not allowed to use their cars more than 3 times in the week during peak hours. In fact, Bogotá wants to promote the use of Transmilenio which is a public transport network based on the same model as Curitiba.

Transmilenio

I find these decisions so strict but at the same time effective and then what comfort of life… It is so nice Bogota for this calm and many green spaces. 😌

So, after praising Bogotá, it’s Medellín’s turn!

I was visited this city because I had heard about the creation of 30 green corridors within the city! WOW 🥳

Instead of giving you a long paragraph, I found a video that explains their approach rather briefly. I’ll let you see her and come back and read this exciting article. 👇

Medellín Green Corridors | Ashden Awards 2019 : Click here !

I find it fabulous to have succeeded in introducing so much vegetation into a city, it is beautiful, restful, soothing, and it benefits everyone, from the ant to the director of a company happy to find some shade at his lunch pose.

Medellin

Anything is possible, we can change things, the Colombians did it, the Brazilians, the Ecuadorians and so many others so it’s our turn! It was minute unifying ! 💪

Well, the end of this world tour is approaching dangerously… 😱

This time no riddle, I’m leaving South America to go to the United States, I’m not going to stay there long but I’ll share you the big infrastructure I’m going to see.

Come on, besitos, as the Colombians say! 😘

One thought on “Bogotá and Medellín : Colombia’s green cities ! 🇨🇴”

  1. Hi !
    Thank you so much for sharing your travels ! You make me dream and want to travel more !
    I really like your point of view on the environmental matters. It’s great what they have already done in Bogotá and Medellín to be green cities, and I wish more could follow their exemple !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *